The Sidney Prize and the Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize

sidney prize

The Sidney Prize is an award given monthly by the Hillman Foundation to honor outstanding socially-conscious journalism that fosters social and economic justice. The prize is named for Sidney Hillman, President of the Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, who fought tirelessly for a “better America” and a progressive industrial democracy. The Hillman Foundation has worked for more than six decades to illuminate critical issues facing working people and to seek equitable solutions that help all of society.

In the US, the Black Lives Matter movement led by Patrisse Cullors and Opal Tometi has won this year’s Sydney Peace Prize. The Prize is a recognition of their promotion of non-violence, human rights and peace with justice. This is the fourth time the Black Lives Matter movement has been awarded this prize, which is sponsored by the National Association of Scholars. The prize is based on nomination by the NATS conference organizers and members.

NATS is proud to support the work of this group of individuals and organizations that seek to promote peace with justice, non-violence and human rights. We also recognize that they are defending academic freedom and the integrity of higher education. We are pleased to award this year’s Sidney Prize to these deserving recipients.

This prize is presented to the most outstanding Honours essay in Jewish Civilisation, Thought & Culture, as judged by the Chair of the Department of Hebrew, Biblical and Jewish Studies. The prize is funded by the Lucy Firth bequest. It is a monetary award of $1000, plus an honorable mention.

The Overland Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize is a literary prize open to Australian writers over the age of 18. This year’s judges, Patrick Lenton, Alice Bishop and Sara Saleh, have shortlisted eight pieces from more than 500 submissions. The winner and two runners-up will be published in Overland’s autumn 2024 edition. The winning entry will receive $5000 in prize money and the runners-up will receive $750 each.

All NATS member organisations are eligible to enter this prize, including those from outside Australia. Entries are submitted online via the NATS website. The closing date for entries is 1 September 2024.

Each year, the Sydney Peace Prize is awarded to an individual or organisation that promotes “peace with justice”, human rights and non-violence. The prize was founded in 1995 by Sydney chess players and friends of the late Prof Noam Chomsky and Mary Burnside. Since then the prize has grown to become one of the most prestigious in the world.

The winner of this prize will be a NSW-based school, community group or business that has made a significant contribution to reducing conflict in schools and the wider community. The Prize is a monetary award of $2500, plus an honourable mention certificate. The prize is supported by the City of Sydney. The City of Sydney congratulates all nominated candidates and the winners. The prize will be presented at the NATS conference in Sydney, August 2017. For further details on the prize and how to nominate, see here.